Kümmel Early Achievement Award

The decision on the Kümmel Award has been made by the selection committee, consisting of Profs. Raymond Bishop (Chair), Karen Hallberg, and Masahito Ueda.

The Kümmel Early Achievement Award 2013 goes to Honourable Mentions for the Kümmel Award are given to History of the Kümmel Award

Call for Nominations for the Kümmel Early Achievement Award

Dear Colleague:

The International Advisory Committee responsible for the International Conference series on "Recent Progress in Many-Body Theories", and for awarding the Feenberg Medal, has also established an award for young physicists whose published work is a significant contribution to quantum many-body theory. More details of the Conference Series and of the Awards can be found on the website.

The title of this award, THE HERMANN KUEMMEL EARLY ACHIEVEMENT AWARD IN MANY-BODY PHYSICS honors Prof. Kuemmel's long and distinguished career as a leader in the field and as a mentor for younger generations. It should be noted that Prof. Kuemmel, together with Prof. Raymond Bishop, received the Feenberg medal in 2005 for the development of the Coupled Cluster Method. The Kuemmel Award will be presented at the 17th International Conference on Recent Progress in Many-Body Theories, to be held in: Rostock, Germany during the week 8 - 13 September 2013 ( http://www.mbt17.de ). Previous recipients of the Hermann Kuemmel Early Achievement Award are: Frank Verstraete (2007), Joaquin Drut (2009), and Xiaoliang Qi (2011).

The Selection Rules for this Award are included at the end of this message.

The current members of the Selection Committee for this Award are:

Accordingly, we are pleased to invite you to nominate candidates for this Award. Complete nominations - as indicated in the rules below - should be submitted (by email only please) by 1 April 2013 to: Ray Bishop ( raymond.bishop@manchester.ac.uk )

The decision of the Committee will be announced by 1 June 2013.

Please note that:

We warmly thank you for your cooperation and enthusiasm to encourage young physicists into the field of Quantum Many-Body Theory,

Ray Bishop
Chair, Kuemmel Award Selection Committee

Rules for the Kümmel Award

Title: Hermann Kümmel Early Achievement Award in Many-Body Physics

Purpose: To encourage and reward excellence in the field of Quantum Many-Body Theory. The awardee will be selected on the basis of outstanding published work that has been recognised as comprising a significant advance in the field.

Presentation: The award will be presented at the International Conference on Recent Progress in Many-Body Theories, to which the awardee will be invited to deliver a plenary talk. The local expenses plus the conference registration fee will be paid for the awardee to the same extent as for other invited speakers.

Frequency: One award, which may not be split among more than one awardee, will be made at each meeting in the Series of International Conferences on Recent Progress in Many-Body Theories.

Nominations: Nominations should be forwarded to the Selection Committee by the established deadline, after a call issued by the committee. Nominations should include: Candidates: Each candidate for the award must normally have received his or her PhD within a period of 6 years prior to the closing date for nominations.

Selection Committee: The awardee will be chosen by a Selection Committee whose Chair and other members will be appointed by the International Advisory Committee of the Series of International Conferences on Recent Progress in Many-Body Theories. Each member of the Selection Committee will serve no more than 2 consecutive terms.

Tribute: A tribute to the awardee will be published in the official Proceedings of the Conference at which the award was made. The Selection Committee is charged with the preparation of the tribute and of the final citation for general circulation.

Professor Raymond F. Bishop
School of Physics and Astronomy
The University of Manchester
Schuster Building
Manchester, M13 9PL, UK
Phone: +44-(0)7805 803 302
Fax: +44-(0)161-306 4303